Reviews

Share on FacebookShare on Google+Tweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedInPin on Pinterest
  • Scrumptious!

    Fung R - 19/10/15

    Scrumptious soup of the day (Tuscan bean) served with warm granary rolls. Friendly staff and a warm welcome. Perfect place to end the day with homely cooked food.

    Share on FacebookShare on Google+Tweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedInPin on Pinterest
  • Gluten free choices!

    S J F - 10/10/15

    It'S s not easy eating out when you have to feed a vegetarian and a coeliac, but this place is wonderful! It has a varied menu, with a range of dishes that can be vegan, veggie or gf as required. I had gf sausage and mash, with onion gravy and red cabbage, because I haven't had a sausage in 18 months since being diagnosed, and it was delicious. Then I had a choice of 5, count them, 5, puddings! Real puddings, not nasty pre packaged cakes. I had the chocolate and damson sponge with custard and it was divine. We will return because I need to try the pear and ginger, sticky toffee, brownie and bakewell tart!

    Share on FacebookShare on Google+Tweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedInPin on Pinterest
  • Brilliant find!

    ASE_12 - 04/10/15

    My friend and I stopped here for a coffee whilst in Grasmere for the day. Lovely café, I don't think I've ever seen such huge scones in my life......super looking cake. Difficult to resist and well worth the money. Pleasant staff, lovely ambience. Would certainly recommend it to anyone visiting.

    Share on FacebookShare on Google+Tweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedInPin on Pinterest
  • If only all cafes could be like this!

    FionaLO19 - 01/10/15

    Very friendly, quick service, and brews the best cuppa in Grasmere! (in my humble opinion) both indoor and outdoor seating, an amazing array of cakes and slices. The menu although we only stopped for tea and cake (twice in 2 days!) was extensive and included wraps, breakfast, childrens meals, sandwiches all of which looked very nice as we found ourselves surrounded by them!! This cafe is situated in the heart of the village and is a excellent vantage point to simply sit, arm yourself with pot of tea/coffee and something you "know your really ought not to, but when it's this good you have to", and watch life pass by. Heartily recommend this cheery little cafe.

    Share on FacebookShare on Google+Tweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedInPin on Pinterest
  • Only option in Grasmere for special dietary needs

    Anne C - 21/09/15

    We loved this cafe - and we had walked around Grasmere trying to find a suitable place for lunch - nowhere else made it obvious if they did any GF options. It pays to do some research. However, we were chuffed to find this place. As their website says they have options for for vegans, vegetarians, GF and dairy free....

    Share on FacebookShare on Google+Tweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedInPin on Pinterest
  • What a find!

    Debs081 - 18/09/15

    Popped in here after visiting Wordsworths house. Both my friend and I have special dietary requirements and it was wonderful to find somewhere that catered for us. We both had a coffee with soyamilk and the most delicious vegan brownie I have ever tasted. The owners very kindly emailed me the recipe when I got home.Thanks ever so. Highly recommended.

    Share on FacebookShare on Google+Tweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedInPin on Pinterest
  • Green's is great

    Cinibar - 18/09/15

    We love coming to Green`s Restaurant. It has a great menu choice for Vegetarians and Meat Lovers alike. The food is plentiful and well cooked. You will definitely not starve here! Do book ahead as we noticed some couples having to wait to get a table. This is our fourth visit and we will definitely be back.

    Share on FacebookShare on Google+Tweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedInPin on Pinterest
  • Full at the Inn, but Green's slipped me in!

    mikelymm - 07/09/15

    Stumbled on greens by accident as my stay coincided with Grasmere beer festival every where was full or had 1hr wait for food. Greens managed to fit me in,the food was excellent and the staff very friendly even though they were busy they still managed to chat to the customers. Overall a very pleasant experience. Thanks 😊

    Share on FacebookShare on Google+Tweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedInPin on Pinterest
  • “Excellent cafe where veggies are catered for and doggies are welcome.”

    05/09/15 - Yvonne W

    Lovely cafe with lovely staff. Plenty for the veggies to choose from. There is a terrace outside with tables but well behaved doggies are allowed inside.

    Share on FacebookShare on Google+Tweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedInPin on Pinterest
  • "Soup like Mom used to make...."

    AtomicAda - 29/08/15

    When visting and walking around Grasmere my wife spotted a sign outside these premises together with other various meals the words 'Homemade Pea & Ham Soup', my favourite!! A mental note was made to return and try their soup at lunch time. We returned to Greens for our lunch, I ordered the pea & ham soup whilst my wife ordered the homemade tomato soup for starter. For the first time in god knows how many years I tasted and throughly enjoyed a bowl of pea & ham soup my mother could have made (a professional cook), it was perfect, so much so I had to congratulate the staff. All the courses we had were beautifully prepared and presented. The service was excellent from the young staff. The premises together with the accoutrements were clean and tidy. I can recommend this establishment for food or light refreshments when visiting Grasmere...

    Share on FacebookShare on Google+Tweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedInPin on Pinterest
  • “Standards remain high... Best breakfast in the Lake District :-)”

    SLeeH - 22/08/15

    We visited here in September last year and it was one of the best breakfasts we have had whilst staying in the Lake District. We returned again in August 2015 and glad to say the standards have remained high. My last review is detailed below and am happy to say I will repeat the review. Definitely worth a visit.

    "I had a full English breakfast, and it was lovely. The bacon (two rashers), Heinz baked beans, mushrooms, poached egg (which was perfectly cooked), and a Cumberland sausage (not so nice, a bit hard, however I'm fussy when it comes to eating sausages).

    My girlfriend had the vegetarian breakfast, which she really enjoyed and was happy to get proper veggie sausages, as opposed to sausages made of vegetables.

    The tea was nice too, and we would return".

    Share on FacebookShare on Google+Tweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedInPin on Pinterest
  • Superb food and friendly service

    thereal_mrmoosehead - 12/08/15

    Big family group for evening meal. Preordered, lots of choice for all tastes, including vegetarians and fussy kids. One slight error in order, but quickly and calmly rectified. Friendly service. Will definitely go back.

    Share on FacebookShare on Google+Tweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedInPin on Pinterest
  • Hidden Gem

    Paul H - 01/08/15

    We have tried to dine at Greens Bistro on previous visits to Grasmere but the bistro as been booked up. Taking no chances we booked! You receive a warm welcome from the owners (very much hands on) and the team. I started with home made fish cakes with a sweet chilli dressing and leaves. My partner had a ham hock terrains, both beautiful. Our main course, I choose toad out of the hole with mash potatoes, seasonal beg and lashings of onion gravy. My partner had pork belly with crispy crackling and again beautifully cooked vegetables . We followed this with a twist on an eaton mess and home baked apple pie with Lakeland vanilla ice cream. A beautiful meal with first class service. With wine our bill was £78.

    Share on FacebookShare on Google+Tweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedInPin on Pinterest
  • Nice too see a different menu

    340emma - 23/07/15

    Get a bit sick of having same old choice when eating out (vegetarian with vegetarian kids) but here there is a huge choice of lovely different meals. Really appreciated the amount of choice on menu. Food was lovely and service great too. 🙂

    Share on FacebookShare on Google+Tweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedInPin on Pinterest
  • Very high standard - best lunch of the holiday!

    Susykew - 8 July 2015

    I called in for a cup of tea and a 'light bite', but didn't fancy anything sweet. The very helpful gentleman working behind the counter offered me a small portion of the hummus dish which was on the menu. What arrived was a perfectly delicious plate of two flavours of hummus - the curried one is brilliant - accompanied by breadsticks and two tiny slices of warm toasted bread. Perfect! Couldn't fault it. Came back later with husband for tea and cake - also very high standard.

    Share on FacebookShare on Google+Tweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedInPin on Pinterest
  • Amazing cakes!!!!

    Kirstyandrew - 27/06/15

    Popped in for cake and a couple of drinks. The staff were very friendly and welcoming even although they were in the process of getting ready for their evening meal service. We had the pineapple cake and I can honestly it is one of the best cakes I have ever had. Will definitely return!!!!😃

    Share on FacebookShare on Google+Tweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedInPin on Pinterest
  • Gluten free heaven

    xlynseygx - 19/06/15

    I had heard that Greens had a good gluten free menu so really wanted to try it out.
    It is definitely the best place I have been to in terms of gluten free options.
    The soup was beautiful and to be able to have gluten free bread with it was a welcome change from most other cafes!
    I couldn't fault the service. The girl who served us was very helpful and friendly throughout, and the man at the counter was also very friendly.
    The cafe itself is lovely and light with plenty of room, and there is the option to sit outside too.
    I would definitely recommend this cafe, especially for those who require gluten free options. I really wish there were more cafes like this one.

    Share on FacebookShare on Google+Tweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedInPin on Pinterest
  • Fantabulous!

    Kay_Ash_1 - 13/06/15

    Stayed nearby for a week and went to Greens twice. The staff couldn't have been more friendly and helpful, the food was fantastic and catered for lots of dietary needs. We could take our doggies too :-). Perfect!

    Share on FacebookShare on Google+Tweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedInPin on Pinterest
  • A Grasmere gem!

    The_Islanders_831 - 04/06/15

    Only stayed for 3 nights but once we found Green's we didn't want to eat anywhere else. Very welcoming even though we looked like we'd been dragged through a hedge after climbing Scafell Pike. Even though they were busy they remembered us from the previous visit.

    Share on FacebookShare on Google+Tweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedInPin on Pinterest
  • Great place, great food, great staff

    Joan M - 31/05/15

    Second time visit, for lunch today. Very friendly staff, excellent healthy food, great atmosphere, tables nicely spaced, will certainly be visiting again. And again. Highly recommended for vegetarians, gluten free, vegan etc. Lovely variety of options. All in all, first class in all regards and would very highly recommend. Also, very suitable for all age groups.

    Share on FacebookShare on Google+Tweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedInPin on Pinterest
  • Great coffee!

    george s - 24/05/15

    Stopped at this cafe for coffee and was quickly tempted by the delicious looking cakes on view. Decided on the carrot cake which was homemade and tasted as good as it looked. The coffee we had was also delicious and was the best coffee we had while on our short stay in the Lakes. The service was excellent with friendly staff. Would definitely recommend this establishment.

    Share on FacebookShare on Google+Tweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedInPin on Pinterest
  • Superb bistro dining experience with distinctive USP (clue: gluten free)!

    Arianne1984 - 13/05/15

    This is a great little bistro either for lunch or evening dinner. We tried both and it delivered on both occasions. Lovely food, friendly service, good vibe and decent prices (which is no small thing in pricey Grasmere). And, here's the unique element of Greens, an extensive gluten free menu that's every bit as tasty as the 'normal' menu and at no extra price. I have never seen such an extensive 'dual menu' which made my wife very, very happy!

    Greens is a lovely bistro. We started with lunch after a walk around the nearby lake and we loved it very much. They have some interesting menu choices including dishes with their tasty relishes and chutney that are really worth trying. The waitress was friendly, it was her first day but she had a lovely engaging style and brought a little Italian charm.

    So, we noticed that the bistro is open for evening meals (note not every night so check their website first) and we booked a table for the following night. It made a light relief from the high-end cuisine of The Daffodil Hotel which is where we were staying (nice hotel by the way and lovely food too).

    My wife has a gluten free diet. This means she often looks longingly at all the usual goodies that I can choose from menus and then she has to settle for a limited choice for herself. Not at Greens. Their gluten free menu is a dual of the standard menu and the GF option is at no extra cost, despite the ingredients actually often costing more.

    I had some top-drawer locally sourced sausages. They were every bit as good as my award-winning local butcher's sausages in Melrose, Scottish Borders (well worth a short break - top tip). My wife had lamb and said it was wonderful. The evening restaurant team were friendly, sincere and authentic. It's clear that they love what they do which is making you as happy as possible.

    It wasn't very busy, being a weekday evening rather than a weekend. There's space to move, a nice atmosphere and it felt like a good bistro experience.

    Well done to the team and the owners. I wish you well and we will be back when we are next in this part of The Lakes.

    Share on FacebookShare on Google+Tweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedInPin on Pinterest
  • Orange hot chocolate!

    Rachel B - 09/05/15

    Having got married at Greens at Gretna we couldn't not stop at Greens at Grasmere. Staff were lovely and friendly and the Orange hot chocolate was just wow. We didn't dine here but certainly will on our return, the menu looked fabulous.

    Share on FacebookShare on Google+Tweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedInPin on Pinterest
  • Delicious food, impressive menu and great service

    kat90 - 04/05/15

    Being a vegetarian, I was delighted with the selection in this restaurant which includes options for all diets (meat eaters, vegetarian, vegan and gluten free). The food was delicious and there was a lovely selection of local ales on offer. The staff were friendly and attentive. Nice outdoor seating area overlooking the square in Grasmere. Would definitely go back!!

    Share on FacebookShare on Google+Tweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedInPin on Pinterest
  • A firm favourite

    KK25_11 - 18/04/15

    I used to visit this cafe regularly when I lived in Grasmere and on retuning a few years later for lunch I was not disappointed. I had the veggie quesadilla and a caramel steamer which comes with a little shortbread biscuit. They were both very tasty. The menu choice is great. I'm a vegetarian so it is nice to have almost the whole menu to choose from but my meat eating boyfriend was also very happy. The staff are so friendly here and we were pleasantly surprised to find that they still remembered us! A great spot to stop.

    Share on FacebookShare on Google+Tweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedInPin on Pinterest
  • Wonderful cream tea!

    kafe123 - 12/04/15

    Stopped by this fabulous cafe today after a long long day walking on the fells above Grasmere. We were starving...and the gorgeous homemade scones (heart shaped, dusted with icing sugar) served with a selection of speciality jams, were so delicious. We were able to sit outside in the late afternoon sun, enjoying freshly brewed coffee and enjoy the ambience of this beautiful little town. Trust me you won't find better scones in the lake district ...or better service from the friendly efficient staff. So go and enjoy!

    Share on FacebookShare on Google+Tweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedInPin on Pinterest
  • Visited 28 March 2015

    cazbar64 - 30/03/15

    Went as part of a group of 22 were very good Re helping with menu organisation and very good with offering alternatives or tweaking the menu to suit "fussy" people myself being the main culprit. The fish pie was declared as the best ever tasted by those who had it. Great food good atmosphere and friendly staff. Would recommend to couples or groups.

    Share on FacebookShare on Google+Tweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedInPin on Pinterest
  • Lovely stop off

    Jonmlloyd - 24/03/15

    After a nice walk up Loughrigg Fell we stopped here for lunch and thoroughly enjoyed it. Friendly and efficient service. Good food definitely worth another visit on our next visit. The Welsh rarebit with attitude was fantastic and the side salad with the finely grated cucumber and carrot was a great side.

    Share on FacebookShare on Google+Tweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedInPin on Pinterest
  • Brilliant bistro!

    Barbara02 - 11/03/15

    Called in just for coffee and cake on Sunday morning. Fantastic service, lovely home-made cakes and I was pleased to see a completely separate gluten-free menu for those who need it. It was nice enough to sit outside and I would thoroughly recommend it.

    Share on FacebookShare on Google+Tweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedInPin on Pinterest
  • Small bistro of delights!

    Frederick M - 24/02/15

    Greens is a small Bistro in Grasmere. The food on offer is locally sourced and often organic. There are choices for those with allergies and the family run team make you feel welcome.

    This is an idea place to rest your legs after a walk or just indulge in the fine array of light meals and cakes on offer. The Tiffin bar is a special delight and favourite of mine.

    Consistently good over a number of years this is the preferred choice in the village. Prices are reasonable too. Truly a 5 star experience for a light lunch.

    Share on FacebookShare on Google+Tweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedInPin on Pinterest
  • Customer service beyond compare

    Lancastrians - 17/02/15

    We have been to several cafes in Grasmere previously but how remiss of us never to have visited Greens before. We did some research on gluten free options at different cafes in Grasmere and Greens seemed to have many choices which was the reason we picked it. We fully appreciate that not everyone is gluten-intolerant but it can be incredibly difficult to find suitable food without seeming a complete pain but not here. Greens could run courses on how to suit all of the people all of the time.

    In every way this was a great eating experience - it's not cheap but nowhere in the busy areas of the Lakes is. However, the kindness of the owners (we visited on Shrove Tuesday and they even had gluten free pancakes for our daughter) and staff and the quality of the food makes Greens stand out, not just in this area but anywhere we have ever visited.

    Greens is also extremely family-friendly and relaxed. We can't wait to go back.

    Share on FacebookShare on Google+Tweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedInPin on Pinterest
  • Great food and service

    Stevieb54 - 17/02/15

    We visited Greens last night for the first time having seen good reviews. My wife has food intolerance problems and is presently on a low fodmap diet which limits what she can eat at the moment. The staff understood this but still cooked her a superb delicious meal meal within the guidelines of the diet. My meal was also excellent , 5 star without a doubt, Many thanks to all the staff.

    Share on FacebookShare on Google+Tweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedInPin on Pinterest
  • Fabulous after a long walk!

    Alexandra C - 11/01/15

    We visited Greens cafe twice, each time after a very wet hike through the beautiful countryside. They cater for all restrictive diets, gluten free, dairy free, as well as for meat/gluten/sugar eaters!!! The owner, who cooks all the cakes, came over to our table on our return to discuss our thoughts. She even offered to send me her recipes for the fabulous gluten free cakes I devoured. A lovely experience, we will definately return for the food and hospitality.

    Share on FacebookShare on Google+Tweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedInPin on Pinterest
  • Great place to have something to eat

    Mariusz J - 29/12/14

    This place has everything that you will probably need when you are looking after breakfast in Grasmere. Great food with vegetarian option available, wide selection of different tastes of tea and not so overpriced menu as in other "restaurants". Really helpful staff and kind welcome left a great impression on us.

    Share on FacebookShare on Google+Tweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedInPin on Pinterest
  • We found a gem!

    Marion M - 03/12/14

    We have been to Grasmere so many times but astonishingly had never been here before. We were a party of four adults and two very young boys. The food is different without being too different and everything was gorgeous. The staff were wonderfully accommodating with the children. Now we have found this marvellous place we will make it a regular stop on our frequent visits to the area.

    Share on FacebookShare on Google+Tweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedInPin on Pinterest
  • Just as good second time!

    mckenziek234 - 11/10/14

    Just ate at Green's for the second time this week, this time for breakfast, and they were just as excellent. Gluten free choices galore, impeccable service and delicious food.

    Share on FacebookShare on Google+Tweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedInPin on Pinterest
  • Perfect port in a storm!

    Abs140 - 24/10/14

    The rain was lashing Grasmere, but Greens looked so warm and inviting. We were given a very friendly welcome. The menu is extensive and interesting, with plenty of vegan and gluten free options available. There is a great array of homebaking on the counter, and lots of daily specials. I loved my carrot and Corriander soup and my boyfriend enjoyed an interesting special of bubble and squeak rodti with bacon and poached eggs. Yummy!

    Share on FacebookShare on Google+Tweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedInPin on Pinterest
  • Very Welcoming Venue With Tasty Locally Sourced Food

    Bonfiresfornobody - 12/10/14

    Really pleasurable experience here. Brightly coloured warm signs outside, was fairly busy for the middle of the afternoon, all the other patrons seemed similarly complimentary. Pleased by the fact that unlike the other places we'd been to, the Greens seemed keen to offer vegan, vegetarian and gluten free options, but they had an excellent range of simple, elegant and tasty food for carnivores and vegetarians alike.

    The bubble and squeak with a poached egg and salad I ate was very attractively prepared and delectable. My father eulogised the cumberland sausages and the vegetables which were clearly fresh rather than frozen unlike many a restaurant we've been in the area. The cakes looked very appetising and artwork around the venue and general atmosphere all contributed to my enjoyment. Would definitely come here again.

    Share on FacebookShare on Google+Tweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedInPin on Pinterest
  • Gluten free gem

    SAHWillaston - 04/10/14

    Found this excellent cafe by chance and dropped in for quick snack. Really impressed with selection of fare and of gluten free options, all freshly prepared we discovered. Really enjoyed our coffee, teas and scones. My wife, a coeliac, thought the gluten free scone she had, one of the best she's ever tasted (including her own!). Will return on our next visit to the lakes and willed definitely try to make time for a full lunch or even dinner which I noted they are open for on selected days.

    Share on FacebookShare on Google+Tweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedInPin on Pinterest
  • My favourite lunch venue

    AnnJason - 01/10/14

    Green's is my favourite cafe for lunch in the Lake District.

    The owners are really friendly and always have time to ask how we are. The service is great and they offer the best selection of gluten-free food that I have found anywhere. You can even buy the food to take away.

    I always have the strawberry and kiwi tea which tastes as good as it smells. Rare with herbal and fruit teas, I find.

    Eating gluten-free, for many years, meant missing out on decent bread for sandwiches and pastry for pies. Not here. Nothing is too much trouble for Karen to research and then make for the cafe. She is always willing to talk about gluten-free cooking and the supplies that are available from retailers.

    The cafe now does evening meals which I have not tried, but fully intend to the next time I get to stay up in the Lakes for a few days.

    I also understand that they are now catering for weddings at a local venue, so I hope that goes well for them.

    Share on FacebookShare on Google+Tweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedInPin on Pinterest
  • A brilliant cafe

    Jeremyrs1 - 28/09/14

    We were looking for lunch in Grasmere and the pubs were either disappointing or too expensive so we ended up in a cafe. I am not a cafe person so was not particularly looking forward to it but it was absolutely brilliant. Service was helpful without being intrusive, there was an excellent choice (including gluten-free) and the food quality was very impressive. Everything was good but the salad that came with the ploughmans epitomises the place. No lettuce/tomato/cucumber "this will do" mess but interesting leaves, peppers, a very tangy dressing and loads more. I could have eaten a whole bowl of it! Clearly a lot of work and thought had gone into it, just like the whole of the cafe.

    Share on FacebookShare on Google+Tweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedInPin on Pinterest
  • We keep coming back :-)!

    Natalie G - 16/09/14

    It is always great to sit down at Greens and know that I am going to get a great choice. As someone who is wheat intolerant Greens is a dream come true.
    The pear and ginger pudding was wonderful yesterday, I have added it to my favourites list alongside the chocolate brownies (to die for)
    I also find out useful info and recipe tips every time I call in.
    So its thank you for another wonderful lunch.

    Share on FacebookShare on Google+Tweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedInPin on Pinterest
  • Wow; much better than I imagined

    Johnny A - 14/09/14

    We called in at this cafe after a mammoth hike, just as it was preparing for the evening session (which starts from 6pm Friday, Saturday, Monday andTuesday), so it was still very quiet when we arrived on this bright Tuesday evening..

    As it was a sunny evening we sat outside in the small courtyard, which is a pleasant spot, although inside the cafe it was clean and spacious.

    I am a vegan, and although this is not a vegan/vegetarian cafe, it does have plenty of choices for us. I chose a warm salad dish of quinoa, roasted vegetables, tamari roasted nuts and seeds and a soya yogurt dressing, and it was truly amazing.

    I have eaten a lot of vegan meals in non-vegetarian cafes, and some can be dreadful. I was a bit worried that this one could be too, but my main course was faultless. The quinoa was cooked to perfection as it can be a bit bland or uninteresting and even bitter if not done correctly, but this and the whole dish were exceptional.

    My dessert was a massive ice cream sundae with chunks of vegan brownie, choc chips and raspberry sauce, and again was a delight if a struggle to finish (I rarely eat dessert).

    Service was friendly and attentive, but not overbearing and by the time we left the place was filling up nicely. We had walked past a few times during the day and it was always busy, so it does seem to be popular.

    My wife, who is not vegetarian was also impressed with her Cumberland sausage and Yorkshire pudding dish, so again it is good to see that a cafe can cater well for both meat eaters and vegetarians.

    For reference, Greens does also cater for coeliacs; another diet that needs special consideration.

    Share on FacebookShare on Google+Tweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedInPin on Pinterest
  • 2nd visit even better!

    CassaHexham - 08/09/14

    We visited a couple of months ago and was impressed, so thought we'd give it another visit to see if it had been a one off. This bistro MUST be visited if you're in the area. We had coffee & cake (gluten free), with gluten-free biscuit for the coeliac sufferer. We chose them again for a special lunch time treat. They did not let us down. Children were given colouring pencils & paper to keep them entertained whilst waiting for the food. We had 3 different meals, all of which were excellent (the 2 grandchildren had faces made out of the vegetables - a lovely touch). The lady chef came out to say hello and ask if we'd enjoyed our meal (always a sign of excellence, I think). All in all a great experience.

    Share on FacebookShare on Google+Tweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedInPin on Pinterest
  • Delicious food and a warm welcome back

    Lucy W - 01/09/14

    We visit Greens on our many trips to Grasmere and we love it every time. Karen and Robin are lovely people who work incredibly hard with their team at Green's to maintain superb standards in their wonderful food, cleanliness and service.
    Breakfast is lovely with the best sausages ever, eggs cooked to your liking and to perfection and great healthy options to choose from too, in addition to scones, cakes etc and a great range of teas and coffees.
    Our visit for dinner this time was truly special. We started with warm fresh bread with dips - simple but superb. For main course, Karen's Tarragon Chicken was just delicious and my 16 year old hard to please son, asked if I could cook this at home. Hmmm, I will give it a go with Karen's helpful tips, but I was quick to tell him that my attempt will not be the same. My daughters children's option of Cottage Pie was she said "delicious", and a great sized portion and my husband and daughter loved their Chicken Pot Pie. Puddings were scrumptious with a Pear Frangipanne Tart, Sticky Toffee Pudding and many more lovely options.
    Green's is consistently busy and has a loyal following of customers who return time after time for the lovely atmosphere and really delicious food. We look forward to returning very soon.
    Thanks Karen and Robin and your team.

    Share on FacebookShare on Google+Tweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedInPin on Pinterest
  • Gluten free heaven

    DS84 - 30/08/14

    Great little place which we had to try as my girlfriend is gluten free. We had the packed lunch that they can make up for you for £9.95. This included a freshly made sandwich (GF,Vegan, veggie or run of the mill carnivore) , sausage roll (again GF and my girlfriend stated was the best she has ever eaten) an apple and cake if your GF or flapjack otherwise. It all tasted amazing and we were both stuffed and couldn't finish the cake/flapjack until later. A definite visit if your in the lakes and have gluten allergies.

    Visited August 2014
    Share on FacebookShare on Google+Tweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedInPin on Pinterest
  • Gorgeous for gluten free

    PbunnyLisBen - 28/08/14

    I've been to Greens a few times as I'm a coeliac and dairy free; the accommodate this superbly. Previously I've visited for lunch and cakes either after a long walk or a visit to pretty Grasmere.

    I haven't been in yet this year as I've just had a baby. We took our 8 week old for a bistro meal and were not disappointed. Food was beautiful and service really good. My 8 week was not on her best behaviour but she fed and I was made to feel welcome with her. That really was important as this was out first family night out.

    The ham hock terrine was really tasty and the salmon was beautiful with salsa verde. I had a brownie sundae which was just perfect.

    Highly recommended.

    Share on FacebookShare on Google+Tweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedInPin on Pinterest
  • Yummy food - very helpful staff

    LyndaP_11 - 25/08/14

    The food is excellent, the service even better. They went out of their way to accommodate the seven of us on a very busy afternoon. Our second visit but we will visit again.

    Share on FacebookShare on Google+Tweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedInPin on Pinterest
  • Desserts amazing - even with no egg or dairy

    SManno - 10/08/14

    A great find in Grasmere. I can't eat dairy and egg and Karen was great in accommodating this and I even had a different dessert every day! Friendly, enthusiastic and nothing was too much trouble. It made my holiday and I'd highly recommend it for others to try.

    Share on FacebookShare on Google+Tweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedInPin on Pinterest
  • Don't miss this little gem!

    Banerigg - 10/08/14

    There is not much more that I can add to all the other reviews...........fantastic home made food......warm and friendly service ....great choices for vegetarians, vegans and gluten frees.........We had such a lovely evening at Greens this week, all five of us loved every mouthful of our food, thank you Karen and Rob for making going out for supper a memorable...

    Share on FacebookShare on Google+Tweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedInPin on Pinterest
  • Excellent!

    Carol M - 02/08/14

    Called twice during recent visit. First was for lunch, lots of choice for vegetarians & carnivores which is brilliant for me & the other half. Was so inspired we booked an evening table.
    Again the restaurant excelled, my vegetable boulangere was tasty & filling. The other halls toad out of the hole he said was delicious & adored the thick gravy. We had desert which was also lovely.
    Staff were friendly & hospitable.
    I can only add this restaurant provided the best food we ate all week & we will definitely return when next in the lakes.
    A big thank you.

    Share on FacebookShare on Google+Tweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedInPin on Pinterest
  • A Grasmere delight not to be missed!

    Anne O - 24/07/14

    We visit Greens regularly sometime it is the only reason we go to Grasmere, the food is great, the owners lovely and welcoming to customers old and new, dogs are welcome inside and out. Hard to say what my favourite choice is for a snack- tuna mao baggette with salad or fruit or a bit more - Toad out of the Hole, everything is always first class. Greens menu includes vegetarians and gluten free dishes and nothing is too much trouble for the chef. If you're in Grasmere you have to visit Greens.

    Share on FacebookShare on Google+Tweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedInPin on Pinterest
  • Glorious for picky eaters and "normies" alike!

    Elizabeth _Darcy - 20/07/14

    We *loved* this place! We were doing the Coast to Coast walk and were getting a bit bored of the usual pub fare. Myself and my friend are both gluten-free and she's also dairy-free which can be a bit of a challenge. Not so with this menu! There is so much to choose from, perfect for vegetarians, vegans and carnivores. We both had a brilliantly tasty quinoa and roast vegetable salad, which was so filling I couldn't finish it. The organic pinot grigio was divine - like sunshine in a glass. The piece de resistance was the chocolate and damson pudding with vanilla soya icecream. The damson just gave the edge needed to stop it being sickly.

    The service was amazing too. They created the most beautiful dairy-free sundae for a little girl who was lactose-intolerate and her face just lit up. The waiter very subtly checked we were OK and weren't being bothered when another diner came to join us (a fellow walker we'd met earlier in the day). It was such a beautiful evening we sat outside on the patio area and lingered until closing time. I asked the owner about taxis as my feet were so blistered I'd walked there in socks and couldn't face the 500m walk back. She very kindly offered to give us a lift. What an angel! Thank you so much. Greens' was just the fillip I needed.

    Just so you know, Greens' is a café. I'd already had a strawberry soya milkshake and moreish gluten-free orange drizzle cake after descending from the fells earlier that day. It's open during the daytime but not every night so do check. Also it's really good value for Grasmere.

    Share on FacebookShare on Google+Tweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedInPin on Pinterest
  • Bistro sans pretension!

    thetravellinglemon - 13/07/14

    We loved this place so much we ate here twice when staying in Grasmere for a week last year, but could only manage one meal here on our 3-day stay this time. Just as good as a year ago, superb local lamb curry, tasty pie and mash with its own little jug of gravy. All good intentions abandoned in the face of treacle tart for pud. All dietary foibles/allergies catered for deliciously. Not open every evening and best to book ahead.

    Share on FacebookShare on Google+Tweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedInPin on Pinterest
  • Super evening meals

    CaptainPomPom - 06/07/14

    We've just go back from Grasmere, having spent a few days walking. We had evening meals on two nights at Greens. The food was excellent and I liked the varied menu. Staff were very friendly too and asked about dietary requirements. A lovely place to chill & have a pleasant glass of Shiraz! My dog was very welcome too. We'll be back soon, I hope.

    Share on FacebookShare on Google+Tweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedInPin on Pinterest
  • Best restaurant/cafe in town

    Elinor E - 30/06/14

    We were staying about 5 mins walk outside of the town of Grasmere and found Greens on our first day. It could not be more perfect for my partner and myself, I'm a vegan and he just wants great food! I was worried about finding places with at least one option for me, Greens offers loads, with a changing specials menu as well there is something for everyone here. Not only is their food amazing, they even offer vegan deserts (brownie and soya ice cream is heavenly!) and they also have the little touches, vegan spread, soya milk and vegan chocolate powder. The staff were so welcoming and friendly, no request is too much. We are already thinking about planning our next trip to lovely Grasmere and a big part of that is because of Greens and how wonderful having a place were every diet is included, the staff are helpful and friendly and my partner and I can enjoy amazing food together without feeling like I am missing out. Only downside was that they weren't open on more evenings, when we come back next time we will be in on every evening you are open!

    Share on FacebookShare on Google+Tweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedInPin on Pinterest
  • Great place for a tasty and healthy meal

    Evelyn K - 22/06/14

    After traveling around the UK for over a week and eating too much meat and fried fish n' chips, we jumped at the chance to try Greens Cafe for their healthier options, and loved it so much we came back 3 days in a row (every day of our trip)! Very nice food and a nice range of healthy options, including vegetarian and vegan choices. A convenient location right in the center of Grasmere. We'd highly recommend it!

    Share on FacebookShare on Google+Tweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedInPin on Pinterest
  • Classy Food

    BlueBoat52 - 13/06/14

    Very nice food and worth paying for. The staff are friendly and nothing is any trouble for them. I had the fried chicken with veg washed down with red wine that was recommended, followed by the cheese board and fruit with homemade biscuits. On my next visit I will order the same.

    Share on FacebookShare on Google+Tweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedInPin on Pinterest
  • Lovely gluten-free lunch!

    ALouise12 - 08/06/14

    Really lovely gluten free food, never eaten anywhere with so much choice for veggies and those who need to follow a gluten free diet. The gluten free sticky toffee pudding in particular was delicious, wish I lived in Grasmere! Also have a very good choice of gluten free sandwiches to take away. Highly recommend!

    Share on FacebookShare on Google+Tweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedInPin on Pinterest
  • Lovely food and service

    ezzavon - 29/05/14

    We ate here twice, once for tea and scones and the second for evening meal both times were excellent and both time foods was perfect. Many thanks for fitting us in during a busy period. The lamb curry was divine!

    Share on FacebookShare on Google+Tweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedInPin on Pinterest
  • Great Cafe!

    Sarah L - 20/05/14

    Brilliant little cafe found by accident during a stay in Grasmere. A real gluten-free heaven with an extensive menu and real variety. Lovely spot for a great brekkie, highly recommended!

    Share on FacebookShare on Google+Tweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedInPin on Pinterest
  • Just lovely!

    Steve H - 15/05/14

    Found by accident, attracted by the welcoming feel of the place and very happy to have found it. An excellent menu, definitely a cut above most cafes, including an excellent selection of gluten-free and vegetarian/vegan options. A lovely spot for a refreshing cuppa, and run by nice people too.

    Share on FacebookShare on Google+Tweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedInPin on Pinterest
  • Excellent Quality Food

    rbuck - 06/05/14

    Had lunch here and found the quality of food and service to be excellent. The owners clearly care about food and it shows. I think this is the best cafe in Grasmere.

    Share on FacebookShare on Google+Tweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedInPin on Pinterest
  • First Class

    painterman2 - 03/05/14

    The staff were excellent the food was to die for i need gluten free food they do it all with perfection go you wont be disappointed,

    Share on FacebookShare on Google+Tweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedInPin on Pinterest
  • GF Needs

    paulmc27 - 27/04/14

    This cafe provides a very comprehensive selection of GF cakes, pastries and meals - as good as we have ever come across (and plays good blues and jazz)

    Share on FacebookShare on Google+Tweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedInPin on Pinterest
  • Amazing Gluten-free lunch

    fitzy1117 - 23/04/14

    We visited Greens in Grasmere on Easter Saturday, at lunchtime. As a Coeliac I was expecting the usual Baked Potato for lunch, but not at Greens, they had such an extensive Gluten Free menu - soup, sandwiches, toasties, along with a children's menu and not to mention the mouth-watering dessert menu. They also do a Gluten Free Afternoon Tea, which I will definitely be returning for. The food was delicious, even the 'normal' food was great - my family told me ha ha. I couldn't fit in a dessert, so I bought a slice of chocolate and orange Easter cake to take away, but unfortunately the little fluffy easter chick on top was not edible or Gluten Free ha ha. Will definitely be returning to this lovely place, great atmosphere with seating indoors and outside. Highly recommended.

    Share on FacebookShare on Google+Tweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedInPin on Pinterest
  • Good food and very welcoming!

    Chaviar - 20/04/14

    I've just had the pleasure of an evening meal here. We started with a bigger than expected and varied selection of bread olive oil and homemade chilli jam which was enough for four. The rarebit was absolutely delicious. We enjoyed sticky toffee pudding for dessert which I couldn't fault. Perhaps the thing that was most noticeable was the food was all made in house right down to the biscuits brought out with the bill which was quite reasonable. Like the other reviewers we were also made to feel welcome and we're given a handy travel tip to avoid the Easter traffic home. I'd be a regular if it wasn't a six hour drive.

    Share on FacebookShare on Google+Tweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedInPin on Pinterest
  • Thanks you for a wonderful gluten-free afternoon tea!!

    thepixie1 - 16/04/14

    Like many other reviewers we always visit Greens when in the Lake District, although this is the first time I have written a review. As a coeliac, eating out can be problematic, but not here. I love it because I have many GF dishes to choose from the menu. I have just eaten the most delicious, good value GF afternoon tea, with ham sandwiches, sausage roll, heart shaped scone and lemon drizzle cake. It really was delightful ! I am only sorry they are not open tomorrow so I can visit again to order the exact same thing. Oh and the lovely couple who own it always have time for a chat. Go there you won't be disappointed.

    Share on FacebookShare on Google+Tweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedInPin on Pinterest
  • Return Visit

    GillianE - 13/04/14

    We always call at Greens when we are in the area. Today we arrived just as the scones were coming out of the oven I had the Cheese sconce with chunks of local cheddar and the damson gumbo simply divine. My other half had the fruit scone with gooseberry jam and clotted cream and we shared a pot of tea for two. Always made to feel very welcome and especially enjoy a visit to have the high tea. I remarked on this while paying and was told even though it was only 10.30 in the morning they would serve it ...so we shall be back very soon...one of our many visits throughout the summer.

    Share on FacebookShare on Google+Tweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedInPin on Pinterest
  • So dog friendly

    GailWright - 31/03/14

    We visited last week with our two westie's. We mad very welcome especially our Billie and Daisy, it was nice for a change not to feel unwanted. The coffee was wonderful and my husband had the cream tea and it was I quote "the best he has had" and that's saying something. Just wanted to say thank you to everyone at Greens for making us feel so welcome.

    Share on FacebookShare on Google+Tweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedInPin on Pinterest
  • Great Veggie Chilli!

    wanderbear - 26/03/14

    Greens is a dog friendly establishment which has a lovely varied menu. The food is attractively presented with generous portions. Our vegetarian three bean chilli was very tasty and was served with a choice of rice, chips or jacket potato as well as a salad garnish, grated cheese, creme fresh and tortilla chips. The staff are friendly and helpful and a particular bonus to us as dog owners is that no one plays the 'health and safety' card. They just let you bring your dog in...lovely not having to sit outside on a cold wet seat. As a result they are normally busy but well worth a wait if necessary.

    Share on FacebookShare on Google+Tweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedInPin on Pinterest
  • Worth going to Grasmere just for Greens!

    BeHappy222 - 17/03/14

    I know you go to Grasmere for more than coffee but after walking up to Easedale Tarn we were looking for coffee and something sweet and delicious. With so many cafés and tea rooms in Grasmere I am really pleased that the first one we spotted that took our eye was Greens and we weren't disappointed. Homemade soup, carrot cake...

    Share on FacebookShare on Google+Tweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedInPin on Pinterest
  • Excellent Food

    PhilHuds - 16/03/14

    We visited whilst walking in to Grasmere, the food was excellent and great value, the staff are very friendly and they are also dog friendly.

    Share on FacebookShare on Google+Tweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedInPin on Pinterest
  • Lovely little cafe

    Pete M - 26/02/14

    From the outside this isn't the most picturesque place to eat in Grasmere but the service, value for money and food are excellent. The staff were very accommodating to our two toddlers and looked after us really well.

    Share on FacebookShare on Google+Tweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedInPin on Pinterest
  • Warm welcome, delicious food

    holimonster - 22/02/14

    We visited on a Saturday evening for a family celebration and it was perfect. All four generations thoroughly enjoyed their meals. The veggie sharing platter made a great starter with something for everyone and we all found a bit of space to sample the pudding platter. Thanks to Karen, Rob and their team for a very special evening.

    Share on FacebookShare on Google+Tweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedInPin on Pinterest
  • Fantastic food, well priced in a great location

    xboxmarkster - 17/02/14

    We visited here for a early lunch whilst on a day trip to Grasmere and it ticked all the boxes for us.

    The food was delicious, the staff were very friendly and the portion sizes were very generous, the price was very reasonable as well.

    It's in a very handy location right in the middle of the village where the bus stops so it's easy to get too as well.

    I would suggest that you try the Cumberland Sausage Baguette with Red Onion Marmalade as it's fantastic.

    We would definitely go back if in the area again.

    Share on FacebookShare on Google+Tweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedInPin on Pinterest
  • Best hot chocolate in the world!

    Lisa M - 16/02/14

    My 8 year old son says Greens is his most favourite place, because the hot chocolate is the best in the world. And he is a hot chocolate connoisseur, so this is high praise indeed.

    Share on FacebookShare on Google+Tweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedInPin on Pinterest
  • Perfect!

    SamJT1973 - 08/01/14

    Had an evening meal whilst in Grasmere - 11 of us in total , a mixture of adults and children . From the welcome we received on enquiring through to the deserts - it was all perfect ! The Food was beautiful , the range of drinks and menu is great ,the staff were so friendly and went out of their way to make sure we were happy with the experience . 10/10 , would recommend to anyone , and will certainly return when in Grasmere again ! 🙂

    Share on FacebookShare on Google+Tweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedInPin on Pinterest
  • Another fabulous visit!

    JkMowe - 30/12/13

    Can't recommend this place enough! We have been visiting Greens as part of our annual trip to Cumbria for the last four years now, and we are never disappointed. Where many cafés treat us vegan types as too difficult to cater for, Greens embrace all dietary requirements, welcoming you with numerous choices for whatever you could wish for on a day out in the Lakes. The service is always warm and friendly and we only wish we had a Greens back home in Hertfordshire. We look forward to several more visits before we have to return home.

    Share on FacebookShare on Google+Tweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedInPin on Pinterest
  • Delicious December Lunch!

    Avril M - 14/12/13

    Five women and a dog called in for lunch. The menu is varied and we ordered from every corner of it, and it was 100%, unanimously delicious. Friendly, helpful service. Gorgeous cakes. Great soundtrack. GO HERE!!

    Share on FacebookShare on Google+Tweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedInPin on Pinterest
  • Good food, friendly service, gluten-free heaven!

    Cumbrian76 - 10/12/13

    Having visited this delightful bistro a couple of years ago, we were keen to return again on our recent stay in Grasmere. In fact we ended up lunching there twice! There is plenty of choice and everything is beautifully presented and delicious.
    One of our party is coeliac and was amazed at the gluten free fayre on offer. Service is very efficient and friendly.

    Great for a quick break and refreshment after a long walk.

    Share on FacebookShare on Google+Tweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedInPin on Pinterest
  • Gluten free food as wonderful as any meal!

    GCShropshire - 23/11/13

    We have visited Greens on many occasions and always amazed at the variety of food suitable for my wife who is gluten intolerant. Having made your selection, the food is as fine as any you will find anywhere whether gluten free or not, in fact the gluten free range is so tasty, I often select from this menu myself. For fantastic home cooked food that nearly everyone can eat, you will find no better location.

    Share on FacebookShare on Google+Tweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedInPin on Pinterest
  • The best brownies in Britain?

    Claire S - 12/11/13

    Cosy cafe on a quiet side street in Grasmere, serving an excellent selection of comforting snacks and meals, including amazing vegan sausage rolls and brownies!

    Share on FacebookShare on Google+Tweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedInPin on Pinterest
  • Always a pleasure!

    GJF36 - 27/10/13

    We've visited many times over the last few years and always received a warm and friendly welcome. We've sat inside and out and tried a number of different dishes/cakes and never been disappointed. The evening meals during peak season are an added bonus. Our 4 year old now asks when we're going to Greens and we suspected this was because of the colouring pages all children are given, but when asked what he liked about the place, he told us it was the food!
    A stay in the Lakes isn't complete without a visit to Greens!

    Share on FacebookShare on Google+Tweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedInPin on Pinterest
  • Great Place!

    pottsfamily61 - 07/10/13

    My sister had told us to make sure that we went to Green's on our recent holiday to the Lake District. Really glad that we did! It was very busy and people were being turned away. The food really is home-made, including the bread and cakes. They even make their own gluten-free bread and cakes which were wonderful - especially the gluten-free scone! Green's seems to have built up quite a following. It is a great place for everyone plus Coeliacs and Veggies. Dog-friendly too. It has bistro-style dining at night but we could only get there for lunch.

    Share on FacebookShare on Google+Tweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedInPin on Pinterest
  • Multiple Return Visits for the Superb Food!

    leonardsfield - 20/09/13

    We first discovered Green's Bistro a couple of years ago, the main reason being my Gluten Free diet and other cafes only offering a limited selection (either Jacket spud or salad). In Green's Bistro I am in heaven with the varied choices of fresh and tasty mains and puddings. Most items on the menu are available Gluten Free (and vegetarian and vegan). Robin and Karen go out of their way to make you feel welcome and work very hard to create an attractive, home made menu in a fresh and clean environment. We have tried other cafes in the area when Green's has been shut and we can honestly say they do not match up to Green's. We have not tried the evening meals yet but hope to do so soon. We have no hesitation in recommending. Looking forward to our next visit.

    Share on FacebookShare on Google+Tweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedInPin on Pinterest
  • Gem of a Restaurant

    Jillycrafts - 12/09/13

    Greens is an absolutely fabulous restaurant in the picturesque village of Grasmere in the Lake District. We have visited on several occasions and each time has been a lovely experience. The staff - especially the owners - are more than helpful and welcoming. Additionally, we had 2 members of our party with dietary needs (1 can't eat dairy and the other can't eat gluten!) - both felt well catered for indeed, as dairy free and gluten free options were both readily available. Added to this, all of our food was tasty, fresh, well presented and even locally sourced (a bonus). Going to Greens has become somewhat of a tradition for us and we only wish that we lived closer so that we could visit there more often!

    Share on FacebookShare on Google+Tweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedInPin on Pinterest
  • All Round Fabulous!

    Emma M - 01/09/13

    We booked a table at 4pm for 6pm on a Sunday, and the very friendly chap who took our reservation could not have been more helpful. We were given a choice of whether to sit outside or in, and asked in advance whether anyone had any particular dietary requirements. Although not an issue for us, they obviously do a good range of gluten free and veggie meals as well as catering very well for children. We were a party of six including two kids, and all had something different from the menu. Everything was excellent - freshly cooked, beautifully presented and delicious. The staff were welcoming and friendly, despite it becoming busier as the evening went on. Yes, it was a little on the pricey side, but for the reception, atmosphere and quality of the experience, I think it was fair. The kids loved being able to play on the green across the way between courses, (once they had finished the colouring provided as soon as we sat down) and the highlight for them was a herd of cows being led up the road for milking as they ate. We would definitely return here.

    Share on FacebookShare on Google+Tweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedInPin on Pinterest
  • Perfect Pit Stop!

    NoodleStroodle - 30/08/13

    We had lunch at Geeen's twice in one week as we liked it so much. Feeding teens can be a tricky task but everyone found something to their liking here. The custom sundaes were obviously a huge hit. What I would call fresh honest food served by friendly staff. We recommend Cumberland sausage baguette with onion marmalade, rarebit with attitude, the toasties, the wraps, the bread and cheese board with salad, seeds & nuts. Gluten free, vegetarian and vegan catered for.

    Share on FacebookShare on Google+Tweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedInPin on Pinterest
  • Another lovely evening!

    Lucia Nelson - 13/08/13

    My mum and I ate here last night. I had the fish cakes followed by the curry - both were delicious! Loved the presentation of the curry. Service was fast and friendly despite the restaurant being full.

    Share on FacebookShare on Google+Tweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedInPin on Pinterest
  • Fantastic Food and Fantastic Service

    Chris N - 08/08/13

    Visited greens for an evening meal. The food was superb, with everything freshly made. The menu was interesting with lots of options. The owner and his staff went out of their way to make us welcome. Definitely going back.

    Share on FacebookShare on Google+Tweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedInPin on Pinterest
  • Delicious Lunch

    Anne G - 07/08/13

    We were here yesterday and had a beautiful lunch; we each had shepherd's pie, one vegetarian, and both were delicious. Everything's freshly cooked to order so obviously be prepared to wait a wee bit, but it's well worth it. Service was really good with friendly staff, we're already looking forward to our next visit - might have an evening meal next time!

    Visited August 2013

    Share on FacebookShare on Google+Tweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedInPin on Pinterest
  • Really lovely!

    Catherine W - 06/08/13

    Lovely surroundings, great service and excellent lunchtime food. Had courgette pea and mint soup. Loved it! Looked like good pudding and cake selection.

    Share on FacebookShare on Google+Tweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedInPin on Pinterest
  • Fabulous Food and great gluten free and dairy free options

    V J - 03/08/13

    Absolutely first class food with such friendly and helpful staff in a beautiful location. The menu is really varied with great options for those with special dietary requirements. The sticky toffee pudding was simply divine! I will definitely make a detour here again when I'm next in the Lake District.

    Share on FacebookShare on Google+Tweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedInPin on Pinterest
  • A huge choice for gluten free

    Carolyn T - 02/08/13

    Everything from starters to main course to sweets, always a superb choice of fresh, home made gluten free meals. You will not find better gluten free choice and flavour anywhere else.

    Share on FacebookShare on Google+Tweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedInPin on Pinterest
  • A gluten free haven!

    ast61 - 31/07/13

    The best place to eat when you have to stay on a gluten free diet. They have several options on the menu, they fully understand how to care for special diet requirements. Very often you get just a few options on the menu, that's mostly salad or chicken. Here you have gluten free versions of most on the menu! A range of starters, main courses and puddings. And it's tasty, too!

    Share on FacebookShare on Google+Tweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedInPin on Pinterest
  • Always Wonderful!

    yorks_lass_1 - 28/07/13

    Whenever we're in the Lake District, we always visit Grasmere, and whenever we're in Grasmere, we always eat at Greens. I'm a vegan, but my husband is an omnivore, and the menu at Greens is unique in its ability to cater for both of us simultaneously. There's a wide range of choice for all dietary requirements, the food is delicious and beautifully presented, and the staff are friendly and welcoming.

    We normally visit mid-afternoon for a lunch or tea and cake, but now that summer's here Greens are open some evenings for meals, and so this time we made sure we went for a 3-course dinner. As always, there were loads of tempting options for both of us, and we had a wonderful evening.

    If you're going to try one thing on their menu, make it the vegan chocolate brownie...

    Share on FacebookShare on Google+Tweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedInPin on Pinterest
  • Lakeland Lamb Curry!

    nittynora - 28/07/13

    Really enjoyed the lamb curry with poppadom here. Lovely atmosphere and great service from the staff. Real home cooking and good portion sizes. I definitely will be returning on my next visit to Grasmere.

    Share on FacebookShare on Google+Tweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedInPin on Pinterest
  • No problem, Madam!

    Elizabeth780 - 23/07/13

    If you need a 'special' such as gluten free or just prefer to leave the dressing off the salad at Greens this is no problem.
    The staff at Greens bend over backwards to make certain your dietary needs don't cause a concern when you are eating out.
    There are loads of gluten free options on the menu, including yummy chocolate brownies, and the standard variations are pretty good too. They will do a packed lunch to order for walkers or picnickers which you can collect early in the morning and this even has a gf option too.
    Nestled in the heart of this stunning lake district village it's a venue well worth seeking out.
    I enjoyed a nicoise (which they were happy to prepare without mayo) and a warm brownie with local ice cream to follow. All complemented by a carafe of decaf coffee. I was even asked whether I would prefer warm or cold milk for the coffee.
    What attention to detail - rarely found these days! I went with friends on their recommendation. I'll be back.

    Share on FacebookShare on Google+Tweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedInPin on Pinterest
  • Great Little Cafe!

    cheekychubbychops - 25/07/13

    We booked in for an evening meal after seeing how busy this place was in the daytime. The menu was heaven for me - lots of gluten free options and meat for my other half too! Really friendly staff and reasonably priced. What's not to like?

    Share on FacebookShare on Google+Tweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedInPin on Pinterest
  • What a gem!

    Sue130660 - 11/07/13

    What a lovely place. As we walked in, we were greeted by a lovely lady, who couldn't have been more friendly or helpful. The café was modern and light, with outdoor seating for those who wished to sit in the sun, both at the front and the back. The Menu choice was excellent, with a lovely range of choices, for Vegans, Vegetarians, Gluten Free and meat eaters. There was a choice of soups, wraps, sandwiches, jacket potatoes, salads and hot food, locally sourced and really fresh, healthy and tasty. My husband had the Grasmere platter, which was local ham, cheeses, chutneys, bread, salad, fruit and nuts and I had the Very Veggie wrap, which was delicious and beautifully presented. Will definitely go back.

    Share on FacebookShare on Google+Tweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedInPin on Pinterest
  • Very enjoyable meal in a delightful location!

    willum65 - 07/07/13

    Stopped off here after walking around the village checking out for somewhere that would provide us with a light meal. The menu tempted us to sample the toad "out" of the hole and the apple and pear crumble with custard. Very generous portions means you struggle to finish - but as they taste so delicious finish them you must. There is ample seating inside and out. On a sunny day it adds to the pleasure if seated outside. A delightful café which deserves to be popular. The staff are very efficient and friendly - they aim to please. We are making this our first port of call when next in Grasmere.

    Share on FacebookShare on Google+Tweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedInPin on Pinterest
  • Gluten free cream tea!

    Simon B - 03/07/13

    A cream tea - sounds very basic doesn't it? But when you're coeliac and haven't been able to walk into a lovely tea room and have an equally lovely cream tea it takes on a whole new perspective! Really excellent choice for coeliac's - breakfast, lunch (and packed lunches) and dinner ! Will definitely be back....

    Share on FacebookShare on Google+Tweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedInPin on Pinterest
  • Enter this place no matter what your dietary requirement!

    AndytheVole - 01/07/13

    The menu covers vegetarian, vegan, meat eaters like me, and also allows for gluten free as well.
    The starter we chose was home made vegetable crisps and was superb.  I went with a local lamb curry that was light and tasty, my wife went after the vegetarian toad in the hole.  I find the veggie sausages dry normally, but these (I took a taste of one) were great.
    The pudding was sticky toffee pudding.  Again superb.  Visit them they are great.
    Also it is dog friendly which matters to us!

    Share on FacebookShare on Google+Tweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedInPin on Pinterest
  • 2 nights but 3 meals all beautifully presented and delicious

    Linder y - 30/06/13

    We only stayed at Grasmere for 2 nights but had 2 evening meals and 1 breakfast at greens.  Service prompt polite and friendly.  Food was to die for.  The first evening we had starters and mains all lovely.  Only disappointment: we didn't have room for dessert, so we returned the following evening for a whole bunch of starters, then skipped mains for dessert which were so delicious.  The starters so flavoursome, colourful and texture was just right and the chocolate and damson pudding so great words cannot describe.  Highly recommend visiting.  We shall definitely be returning, hopefully asap!

    Share on FacebookShare on Google+Tweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedInPin on Pinterest
  • Accommodating, friendly and delicious!

    Caroline2006 - 29/06/13

    I arrived in Grasmere late on Friday evening in late June with a group of girlfriends, 11 of us in total. By the time we got ourselves organised and walked from the beautiful cottage we had rented (http://www.rockwood-lakedistrict.com/) and into Grasmere, it was 9pm. There was a minor panic when a few of the girls checked with the pubs and they had stopped serving, it was looking like we would have to get taxis (almost a sin in the Lakes in my book!) to Windermere or Ambleside if we wanted to eat. My sister and I spotted Greens and went in to ask if they could kindly accommodate us. They did, in fact they couldn't have been happier to. We all loved the menu choices and mainly opted for the chicken pie and lamb curry, both absolutely delicious. Everything is homemade using local produce and tastes amazing. We drank a lot of prosecco and a few glasses of wine too and enjoyed the evening so much that we booked in again for our large group for the Sunday. In fact, Greens was the only place (apart from at the cottage) that we ate all weekend. Sunday lunch was chicken pie for us who hadn't tried it on the Friday and a delicious Toad "Out of the Hole". The chef came out for a chat after both meals, which shows a confidence in her cooking which is great and well placed. It is great value too, a 2 course meal with lots of alcohol was £27 per head. Sunday lunch with soft drinks only £11 per head... Visit Greens, you will not be disappointed.

    Share on FacebookShare on Google+Tweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedInPin on Pinterest
  • Fabulous Food

    Stephen D - 28/06/13

    Lunch was great, especially the bacon and brie sandwiches, and dinner was even better with the curry lamb from local fells. The owner, Rob, provided great information on local details and Lake District options.

    Share on FacebookShare on Google+Tweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedInPin on Pinterest
  • Couldn't be more helpful!

    Sarahes42 - 17/06/13

    This place is excellent if you are veg'n or coeliac, they were really helpful and wanted to make sure I got food I could eat. Vegan cake and soya milk were no problem. Oh and tasted great!!

    Share on FacebookShare on Google+Tweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedInPin on Pinterest
  • So good to be back again at Green's!

    Deb M - 15/06/13

    We look forward to lunches at Green's when we come to Grasmere every year. The Proprietors - Karen and Robin - and their Team are very welcoming. The food is excellent and there are lots of gluten-free options. We'll be back next year!

    Share on FacebookShare on Google+Tweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedInPin on Pinterest
  • An absolute must!

    Walkallday - 02/06/13

    We stayed in Grasmere for the first time this half term for five days.
    In that time we ate at Greens five times! We tried every other eatery and this stood out by a long way :0)
    Wonderful, friendly staff and owners who can't please enough.
    Delicious locally sourced food with a variety of traditional tea room choices together with more modern and healthier alternatives. Everything we had was big on taste. Scrumptious! The coffee was great too, unusual for a small tea room.
    The biggest discovery for us is the choice of gluten free food. Almost every item on the menu is available gluten free. They also do a mail order service for this gluten free food I believe.
    A great place to eat and relax all day, for breakfast, lunch or high tea.
    Would totally recommend and for those looking for vegan, gluten free, dairy free a fabulous choice.
    We will be returning to Grasmere in the summer and Greens is the destination we will be heading for after a long walk in the fells :0)

    Share on FacebookShare on Google+Tweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedInPin on Pinterest
  • Absolutely Fabulous!

    Ann J - 29/05/13

    If you go to Grasmere you must visit this cafe. The food is great with such a choice of home-cooked meals. The homemade shepherds pie is to die for, served with fresh vegetables, the cakes and scones are delicious, not forgetting the homemade puddings, so yummy. I always make a beeline for this place when we are on holiday. Very good prices a gem of a place. The staff are so friendly which makes all the difference. Plenty of outside seating. Not to be missed.

    Share on FacebookShare on Google+Tweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedInPin on Pinterest
  • Enjoyable Home Baking!

    marshallLancashire - 18/05/13

    On a whim we choose the cream tea special and it proved to be an excellent choice.  A choice of sandwich , homemade sausage roll, scone with jam and clotted cream and a slice of cake.  Far too much to eat for one it would have easily done between the two of us.  Very enjoyable and highly recommended.

    Share on FacebookShare on Google+Tweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedInPin on Pinterest
  • Gluten free Fantastico!

    coeliacexplorer - 16/05/13

    After a stroll on the high tops of the lake district we descended into grasmere and stumbled across this cafe. they had gluten free scones, cakes, and much much more.  What was most appealing to me was the gluten free cream tea, with gluten free scone as I have not had these since I was iagnosed with coeliac 5 years ago.  It was super fantastico amazing deliciousness.  So delicious.  It made an already fantastic week in the lakes, rudyy amazing!  And they were so chilled out about the whole thing.  When placing my order, i let out an excited "thank you so much this is AMAZING to have gluten free food" or something along those lines and the guy behind the till responded with an unphased raise of his eyebrows.  The service could do with a bit of brushing up on, but I was head over heels with the casual nature of what was to offer in the gluten free front.  Top cafe in a super location!

    Share on FacebookShare on Google+Tweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedInPin on Pinterest
  • Amazing for gluten-free options!

    mrssjc26 - 14/05/13

    Have visited Greens Cafe & Bistro several times when on holiday in the Lake District - as a coeliac the choice here is brilliant.  Highly recommend the sandwiches deep filled, with lush salad on the side....the gluten free cream tea is to die for, the scone just heavenly.  There should be a Greens in every town - lovely little cafe with excellent menu and lovely staff.  We'll be back!!

    Share on FacebookShare on Google+Tweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedInPin on Pinterest
  • Great start to the day!

    paulg919 - 06/05/13

    Had read the reviews so thought would start the day with breakfast here before walking.  My daughter opted for toast only but enjoyed the choices of homemade jam.  The full English was very nice and the service and atmosphere very pleasant.  I was tempted by the enormous homemade sausage rolls on display but didn't think I would be able to walk it off.  Will have to try next time!

    Share on FacebookShare on Google+Tweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedInPin on Pinterest
  • Excellent Cafe!

    Jo540 - 06/05/13

    This cafe is outstanding from the quality of the food to the staff.  The owners are very pleasant and spend time with you answering questions from where to eat in the evening when they are closed.  Will always make a visit when in the area what a find.

    Share on FacebookShare on Google+Tweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedInPin on Pinterest
  • Excellent food and coffee - fantastic owners

    roversfc71 - 17/04/13

    We were in Grasmere last week and (unfortunately!!) only visited Green's twice during our stay.  The cafe is run by a husband and wife combo and they are both so lovely and always seem willing to take time out for a chat.  Our first visit was for breakfast before a long walk - I opted for the bacon and egg buttie with coffee - they certainly don't skimp on the filling!!  Everyone in our party agreed everything was excellent - and a special mention for the coffee (probably the best we had during our stay).  Our 2nd visit was on our last day before heading home - I enjoyed the bacon and buttie so much, I had another one!!!  We had 2 dogs on our 2nd visit and the owner couldn't do enough to help - she even came out with a tub of dog treats - which were well received by our canine companions!!  The cafe was only 3 doors down from the cottage we stayed in - which makes it more of a shame we didn't visit more - we'll certainly make up for it next year - we've already re-booked the same cottage.
    We would all recommend a visit to Green's if you're in the area - you won't be disappointed.

    Share on FacebookShare on Google+Tweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedInPin on Pinterest
  • Perfect cafe in ideal surroundings!

    AlexanderStaveley - 15/04/13

    Excellent service, nothing too much to ask.  During cold days, the chocolate brownie and ice-cream is amazing.  With a cup of coffee with it, bliss. Definitely recommended to people to try it.  You'll keep going back when ever you visit Grasmere

    Share on FacebookShare on Google+Tweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedInPin on Pinterest
  • Wonderful again!

    Livtattum - 14/04/13

    Great cafe in lovely surroundings.  This was our fourth visit to Greens and we have been consistently impressed with the high quality food and the lovely service.  Was lovely that the owners recognised us and made a fuss of our daughter;  she loves the "lovely lady" who always talks to her!

    Soup and sandwiches; hot, tasty and filling!  What more could you ask for?  Looking forward to our holiday in May when we will be visiting again.
    Thanks.

    Share on FacebookShare on Google+Tweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedInPin on Pinterest
  • Especially friendly and engaging owners!

    dodgydd - 13/04/13

    Having just spent a week in Grasmere, I just thought I'd add a few words about Green's in Grasmere (I notice it's spelled incorrectly in the Tripadvisor listing by the way).  The hosts are friendly, happy to share a laugh or two and are very welcoming to people with dogs.  Food is top notch and coffee especially good in our group's opinion.  Outdoor seating is exactly, I noticed that there were pads on the seats that are under the cover out front.

    Share on FacebookShare on Google+Tweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedInPin on Pinterest
  • Don't miss this!

    Mary H - 08/04/13

    We've been going to green's since Karen and Robert first opened in 2007.  The food seems to be more delicious each time we go and the coffee more perfect.  There's a great atmosphere, friendly helpful staff and its dog and children friendly.

    Share on FacebookShare on Google+Tweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedInPin on Pinterest
  • A real gem!

    daisyCheltenham - 27/03/13

    This was our second visit to Greens cafe and it was fantastic.  We had our 5yr old and 2yr old and the food was good hearty, healthy food.  Our son is allergic to Dairy and Soya and they made him the loveliest shepherds pie.  I had the soup which was delicious.  My daughter had toad out of the hole, which was made to look like a smiley face.  She ate the whole lot and has requested it again since we came back.  This cafe is not the cheapest you will find, but the quality and attention to healthy eating makes it worth every penny.  Please please please give this place a try if you are in the area.

    Share on FacebookShare on Google+Tweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedInPin on Pinterest
  • Perfect Choice!

    FizzScotland - 03/03/13

    After a long walk in the hills we arrived back in Grasmere, hungry and weary.  Grasmere certainly isn't short of cafes, but Green's looked very inviting and we soon discovered it was the perfect choice.  The service and food were excellent, all tasted fresh and well prepared.  Lovely soup with bread that tasted homemade and a fresh baguette crammed full of chicken.

    Though neither my partner or myself are Vegans, we did notice a massive selection of Vegan options, including some yummy cakes.  My partner's son is Vegan and we are well aware of the minimal selection at most eateries.  So whether you're a Vegan or not, next time you're in Grasmere pop in to Greens.  I am sure you won't be disappointed.

    Share on FacebookShare on Google+Tweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedInPin on Pinterest
  • A Brilliant Find!

    nina21284 - 21/02/13

    We stumbled across Green's when we visited Grasmere. It was bustling inside when lots of other places were empty so we gave it a go.
    The service was great and the food was delicious - I even had cake to take away! There were lots of gluten free options on the menu too which I thought was very inclusive.

    All in all I would recommend this highly.

    Share on FacebookShare on Google+Tweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedInPin on Pinterest
  • Daytime Visit - Delicious!

    The Teacher7 - 16/02/13

    We visited Green's in October for an evening meal, but decided that during this most recent stay in Grasmere we would try it for lunch. There is an amazingly large menu, which is ideal for many different food intolerances or even if you don't have any requirements other than "good food" (like my husband!). In fact, he had the special of a Cumberland sausage baguette which he declared was the best he'd had - praise indeed!

    My sandwich of chicken and salad was large and fresh, served with more salad on the side. Delicious! Sadly, our stomachs were too full to try one of the amazing looking cakes but no doubt we'll return one day to try them. The service is counter service, although the staff do hover for orders if they are not too busy. Although by the time we left most tables were full inside, the gentleman (owner, I assume) wasn't too busy for a quick chat about our stay in Grasmere.

    Most welcoming and a definite place to return to!

    Share on FacebookShare on Google+Tweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedInPin on Pinterest
  • We love Green's!

    Eleanor485 - 07/01/13

    We come back here every time we are in the Lakes, it truly is one of the best places we have ever eaten. The food is simple but delicious and we always receive a lovely warm welcome from the staff. I have a nut allergy and gluten intolerance and Greens has plenty of choice, including their incredible puddings!

    Amazingly, the lovely team who run the cafe seem to remember us (and my allergies!) and come over to say hello and check we have been happy with everything. My partner, who can eat anything, loves it too! We would thoroughly recommend Greens to anyone who enjoys good quality, hearty food and a wide range of options for even the fussiest eater!

    Share on FacebookShare on Google+Tweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedInPin on Pinterest
  • I love this place!

    Triggersmrs - 05/01/13

    We go back to Greens again and again.  Great home cooked fresh food, loads of choice, perfect for all the family and run by a lovely team of people - what more could you want!

    Share on FacebookShare on Google+Tweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedInPin on Pinterest
  • Great Lunch Food!

    Smithy59 - 21/11/12

    We visited Greens on a lunch-time.  The homemade soup was great and the sausage rolls are yummy, lots of meat and very good pastry.  Lots of cakes and scones to choose from too.  Friendly staff and quick service even though it was very busy.

    Share on FacebookShare on Google+Tweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedInPin on Pinterest
  • Excellent for Vegetarians!

    djs115 - 11/11/12

    Very good to find such a different selection on the lunchtime menu.  It was also good to find that so much local produce is used and promoted.

    Share on FacebookShare on Google+Tweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedInPin on Pinterest
  • Another Excellent Visit!

    Tiddles2408 - 10/11/12

    Food good, bacon sandwich on both visits was excellent, lovely staff, lovely cuppa tea.  Took some scones for takeaway and they gave us knife and butter portions to go with it, lovely place, well worth a visit.

    Share on FacebookShare on Google+Tweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedInPin on Pinterest
  • Great Coffee!

    Catherine L - 02/11/12

    Wonderful!  Warm and cosy just what you want when its chucking it down with rain outside.  We visit every year, usually in October, accommpanied by the grand parents.  As usual the hot chocolate was superb, the cappuccino a coffee lovers delight and this year the sausage rolls and scones with jam and cream hit the spot.  Well worth the visit, we look forward to next October.

    Share on FacebookShare on Google+Tweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedInPin on Pinterest
  • They Remembered!

    Chip w - 30/10/12

    We went to Grasmere during a rest day while walking the Cumbria Way.  While ordering lunch the owner/cook came out and asked if we had walked the Coast to Coast Walk two years earlier.  Remarkably we had, and she had remembered us.  Wow!

    This is a great place for fresh, high quality food.  We have eaten there three times and would make special trip to Grasmere to eat there again.  The food and service make this restaurant a cut above.

    Share on FacebookShare on Google+Tweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedInPin on Pinterest
  • “Delightful, Healthy and YUMMY!”

    Ericka Antionette, California - 21/10/12

    Quaint, Gluten Free, Vegan options, friendly service and TASTY dishes!

    Went for dinner, deserts and lunch everyday during our stay in Grasmere 🙂

    Share on FacebookShare on Google+Tweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedInPin on Pinterest
  • Excellent! What more can you want?

    Princess-Stacy-April 01/10/12

    Indoor and outdoor seating available with fantastic food choices. The staff are very friendly and will do anything to help. The food is made fresh at the bistro, I must say their roast potatoes are divine. Even if you just fancy a brew and a light bite I would recommend any of their cakes but most of all their ice cream sundaes. Your choice of ice cream with either shortbread or cookies in the bottom with cream and chocolate sauce. Even if just ordering a tea or a coffee they are served with small heart shaped shortbread biscuits which are delightful. The place is very clean and the toilets are perfect. It is situated perfectly in grasmere as you can see across the green and it is in the middle of the shops.

    I love this place and go every time I visit. Today was my first lunch in the bistro and decided their hearty food should be made known to others. Any one can go, families, friends, business people etc they cater for all.

    Share on FacebookShare on Google+Tweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedInPin on Pinterest
  • We had to come back!

    Psychic 1975 - 05/09/12

    Myself and girlfriend had breakfast here back in 2011.  I never forget a top quality breakfast, that sets you up for the day.

    So really, this is quite simple to review.  We returned again this year, and it's still the best cooked breakfast you'll find in grasmere.

    Share on FacebookShare on Google+Tweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedInPin on Pinterest
  • Fantastic Service!

    Lally 05 - 02/09/12

    Service and attention to detail cannot be faulted, as we were first there a lovely and patient young waitress face painted my daughters and allowed my young girls to adapt their order due to fussy taste.  We were well looked after throughout.  The food was great.  I had fish cakes and lamb curry which hit the spot after a long and enjoyable day, my girls plates ended up empty except her brownie because of the size but was wrapped up and she completed it after her Sunday lunch the next day.

    Thank you greens for a great finish to a nice day in grasmere!

    Share on FacebookShare on Google+Tweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedInPin on Pinterest
  • Fantastic Family Meal!

    Trish, Wrexham - 27/08/12

    The owners/staff are really welcoming, they spoke to the children as customers too (we are used to kids being tolerated but they were really welcomed here) and they were given colouring to do while the food arrived.  We ordered a reasonably priced bottle of red wine with our meal and the boys had fresh pressed juices ( not the usual nasty chemical offerings).  Us adults had the delicious lamb curry, the kids had lasagne and toad out of the hole, presented imaginitively (looked like Bradley Wiggins!-in a good way!)

    Toffee puds/choc and damson puds to finish were also scrumptious, so much so people at the next table were asking what we had ordered so they could do the same!  We could not recommend Greens enough, whether dining as a family or not.  The food is really tasty and unpretentious and the menu sounds delicious, and the staff were great.

    We look forward to returning next time we stay in Grasmere!

    Share on FacebookShare on Google+Tweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedInPin on Pinterest
  • We're your biggest fans right now!

    Teresa 01/08/12

    We had a lovely lunch at your bistro yesterday (you kindly closed the doors for my shivering son) and I was delighted just now to find your braised cabbage recipe posted on your website.  I was just wondering if you were willing to share your blueberry and almond cake recipe?

    My husband just wants to add that he loved the chicken pot pie, so we're your biggest fans right now.  Many thanks again!

    Share on FacebookShare on Google+Tweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedInPin on Pinterest
  • Food to die for!

    Dr Leyland Sheppard 26/06/12

    Many congratulations on producing food good enough to die for!  I raved particularly about Karen's chicken pie, but the steak pie was awesome too - I found the moisture content to be perfect.  The recipe would be great to have but it won't be the same in Dorset!

    Share on FacebookShare on Google+Tweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedInPin on Pinterest
  • Fabulous Food! Yum!

    Diane Dootson 04/06/12

    We visited your cafe in the summer of 2011, and are actively planning to visit again this summer.  We are British expats living in Houston, but we visit Ambleside for a week every summer.  We loved your food so much, we are sitting by our pool planning our visits to Greens and what we want to eat.  Yum!  Fabulous food and service, and we have told all our friends about you.

    Share on FacebookShare on Google+Tweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedInPin on Pinterest
  • Absolutely Yummy!!

    Dave H

    I visited Green's last week, and the food was absolutely fantastic.  Great service with a smile and the chocolate brownies are just fantastic, lovely and warm with creamy ice cream on top!

    I'm going back for more!

    If you would like to write us a review we'd be delighted to hear your comments, send it to info@greensgrasmere.com

    Many Thanks!

    Share on FacebookShare on Google+Tweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedInPin on Pinterest